Have You EdgeWalked Yet?

Hi All!
After a hiatus, I am finally back. I have so much to write about!

The first thing I want to share with you is my trip to Toronto. Two weeks ago I was in Toronto for a whirlwind of activities: friends, family, conferencing, and being a tourist. It was so much fun.

But along the way, something stopped me in my tracks: EdgeWalk on the CN Tower.
If you haven’t heard of this latest attraction on the CN Tower yet, check it out on line (www.edgewalkcntower.ca/).  (I’ve also written about my experience for The Ottawa Citizen which you can read when it comes out in a couple of weeks—I’ll let you know).

It was an amazing experience—amazingly terrifying and amazingly beautiful! Whenever I do these crazy, fun, amazing activities they always scream at me, “why the heck don’t you do this more often?”

When I say this to myself, I’m not just talking about the physical adventure of, say, EdgeWalk, but the experience of challenging any part of the mind, body and/or soul.

Sometimes, for example, at work I need to walk on the edge of my skills, push them a little further. Stretch myself so I can be that much better. At home, I need to step up to the edge to communicate a little better with the people I love, because sometimes I become complacent. At other times, the adventure is to look inside to challenge my own thinking or behaviour  or trusting my own instincts to the nth degree.

EdgeWalk reminded me of the results that pushing the envelope can inspire. Yes, it stopped me cold, but when I accomplished my task, I had grown by leaps and bounds in only half an hour! I saw a beautiful view that few people get to see without bars or mesh or glass. And I saw the beauty within myself: courage and spirit and curiosity.

Have you taken an EdgeWalk recently?  How do you know if you have? If something is really difficult, if it pushed you to expand yourself in ways you weren’t even sure you were capable of, you are doing an EdgeWalk.

The beauty of doing any EdgeWalk is that it’s amazingly terrifying and amazingly beautiful. It is a moment of transformation which answers the question, “Why on earth, would you scare yourself silly like that!”

From Along the (high altitude) Fitness Trail,
Tracy

About tracygagnon

Tracy’s life-long passions have intertwined to create an interesting career. Since childhood, Tracy has loved writing, public speaking and fitness. She graduated from Carleton University’s School of Journalism in 1986. Since that time, she has written for the Ottawa Citizen newspaper, created and written several newsletters, written award-winning technical manuals, as well as marketing materials, reference check reports, proposals and other materials. She has written for all levels of government, private industry and the not-for-profit sector on a variety of subjects. Throughout her life, Tracy has also found herself publicly presenting various types of information—from teaching small children to swim and adult fitness classes to presenting communication seminars and creative speeches (through Toastmasters International). In order to pull all her interests together, she created Inward Journeys in 1994. Her purpose was to help individuals and groups draw out their potential. She wrote programs on communication, teamwork, self-esteem and motivation. Each program was interactive and very often had a physical element to help participants internalize key points. Some of her experiential team adventures included: rock climbing, whitewater rafting, sailing and dogsledding. The final thread from childhood was a love of fitness, which was already manifest from the days of Participaction and flexed arm hangs (yuk!) to Inward Journeys and finally onto a new challenge at Carleton University. At 42 she became a fitness instructor at Carleton U—a dream she had had since she was 16! Eventually she was offered a full time contract position, where was able to finally put all of her skills to work as a writer, presenter and fitness enthusiast. She created the Fitness Now newsletter, the To Your Health blog, and taught fitness classes to people from all walks of life. After a year and a half, however, her contract wasn’t renewed and it was time to move on to a new adventure. Her passions have never dimmed and because of that Tracy has created a new fitness blog called Along the Fitness Trail. Please join her on her new adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have You EdgeWalked Yet?

  1. Erin says:

    Oh, sounds like so much fun! I have to plan a trip to Toronto to do that! 😀

Leave a Reply

